Kawah Ijen

Today we will have a story about a very unusual place, which even in dreams can hardly dream. But believe me, it really exists. Meet — Kawah Ijen volcano, also known as the world’s only volcano with lava blue! In its surroundings you can find hot springs, waterfalls, volcanic landscapes and many other things that formed as a result of volcanic activity. But first things first.

Initially, let’s understand the name. One single name for this place does not exist. Immediately he called Ijen volcano. And in it there is a large sulphurous lake, called Kawah. But along with this there is a volcanic complex, which is also called Ijen. And in order not to stray, the main subject of the story and called Kawah Ijen.  

Located it is a miracle of nature on the island of Java and is the boundary of two districts: Banuvangi and Bondovoso. In a neighborhood area of ​​about twelve thousand people. In addition to the caldera, which will be given to the basis of the attention, there can still be found stratovolcanoes, volcanic cones and craters. It’s located in a radius of twenty kilometers from Kawah Ijen. In order to ascend to it enough to spend a couple of hours. Special physical preparation for this is not required. Kawah Lake, located in the caldera has a maximum diameter of about one kilometer, and its deepest point is at a depth of two hundred meters. Its beach — a large deposit of natural sulfur. The truth is due to a number of negative aspects since the start of monitoring of the lake, it ploschat decreased by more than ten times.

On this site, you can tell a lot, but I will not pull, and start with his raisin — blue lava. How is this possible? To be fair to inform you that this is no ordinary lava in the understanding, to which all are used to. Its feature is the presence of substantial amounts of sulfur. When the mass flows on the surface, it produces sulfur dioxide, which burns at a temperature of about six hundred degrees Celsius. And if you look closely at the photos accompanying this article, it can be seen. It is necessary to note one feature – a surprising effect nailushim properly visible at night due to the fact that the emission of gas combustion is very weak. During the day, as a rule, the lava is red. But the night is the real feeriya paints are visible! This place attracts not only ordinary visitors, and journalists who like to shoot documentaries here. To avoid disappointment on the visit should be noted that such a phenomenon can be observed, alas, not every night. The reason for this may be as weak emissions of lava, and a ban on visiting the place because of the unstable situation.

And now let’s go directly to the caldera. Its highest point — Mount Merapi is a stratovolcano, rising above the sea level at 2803 meters. It is located in the south-eastern slope. In general, the majority of volcanic formations came here just on the south side. But in the north, on the other hand, he formed an arcuate ridge. Subduction zone, which is located Kawah Ijen, stretches more than twenty-five kilometers. When approaching not even say that there are close to the volcano. Around him stretched kavovye plantations and rice fields, and on the slopes there are fields and meadows.

Lake Kawah is a combination of sulfuric and hydrochloric acids. It is usually considered to be the color of emerald. On the surface temperature is about sixty degrees Celsius, although it can glubline to step over the line of two hundred degrees! Once enthusiasts, it was decided to find out just how dangerous mixture in the lake, and they stuck to it for five minutes, the aluminum sheet (which, incidentally, very well react with acids). And when he pulled out the remains of it, so to say, not much. When you visit this site you must wear protective masks with filters that protect the system from harmful of Respiratory and very poisonous sulfur fumes. But there is a positive point. Thus, due to the fact that the red-hot gases of high temperature, then it often occurs in discharge voltage, which is accompanied by the appearance of flashes electric blue. Moreover, they may reach five meters in length. That is to say, the lightning in miniature. Complementing the overall picture of the presence of five grams of molten aluminum in one liter of liquid. Just explosive mixture!

Geologically, the area began to take shape back in the Pleistocene. Then there was a caldera. And it has already started to form volcanic cones. Now it is safe to say that the basic “building” material – is basalt, basaltic andesites, andesite simply, pikrobazalty and dacite. Kawa Ijen is an active volcano. The last violent eruption happened here three weeks of November in 1936. Then, because of relatively high activity in the caldera directly Even streams out of their banks. But even now, standing on the shore of the volcano can be seen that he was just asleep, but not awake. So, regularly changing the color of the water Kawah. He then green, then white, then brown. Also, due to the activity of sulfur dioxide there is a strong foam. And if you’re lucky, you can even feel a slight tremors in strength. Their number reaches a few hundred a year, so the chance to feel on itself light shifts letosfery quite possible.

The interest here is the mining of sulfur, which is done in the traditional way — by hand. It should be noted that this work is not light, moreover, is extremely dangerous to health. Complicating the situation of local workers and the fact that they have little or no respirators. To protect the respiratory tract often use wet cloths that tuck into the mouth. But even these measures have little help, and according to some, hard workers on this job on average live only 47 years. By the way, from the height of workers with baskets on their shoulders pretty well complement the overall picture. Yet they work really hard. Some tourists who have visited here give employees their respirators. Well, it is a valuable gift! production process usually looks as follows. Initially sulfur reaches the surface of molten red liquid, which flows from the cracking. Over time, it cools down and changes its color to yellow. Then divide the frozen substance crowbars and shovels, loaded into baskets and belongs to the shipping station. Despite this artisanal mining, in Kawa Ijen extract the purest and expensive sulfur in Indonesia, which is used for bleaching sugar and rubber vulcanization.

It is in this place (especially going down the hill to the blue lava) but remember The Divine Comedy by Dante and his nine circles of hell! Initially, when lifting the impression of living area, but gradually appear empty and lifeless slopes, clubs acrid smoke, burning hot sulfur flowing and at the end — a smooth, emerald and dangerous lake.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Кава Иджен

Сегодня у нас будет рассказ о очень необычном месте, которое даже в снах вряд ли приснится. Но поверьте, оно реально и существует. Знакомтесь – вулкан Кава Иджен, известный также как единственный в мире вулкан с синей лавой! В его окресности можно найти горячие источники, водопады, вулканические пейзажи и много чего другого, что сформировалось как следствие вулканической активности. Но обо всём по порядку.

Первоначально давайте разберёмся с именем. Одного единственного названия для этого места не существует. Непосредственно сам вулкан называется Иджен. И в нём же есть большое сернистое озеро, которое называется Кава(х). Но вместе с этим здесь расположен целый вулканический комплекс, который также называется Иджен. И для того, чтобы не плутаться, главный объект этого рассказа и называют Кава Иджен.

Расположено это чудо природы на территории острова Ява и является границей для двух округов: Баньуванги и Бондовосо. В окрестносях территории проживает примерно двенадцать тысяч человек. Кроме кальдеры, которой будет уделено основаное внимание, здесь ещё можно встретить стратовулканы, вулканические конусы и кратеры. Это всё располагается в радиусе двадцати километров от Кава Иджен. Для того, чтобы взойти на него достаточно потратить полтора-два часа. Специальная физическая подготовка для этого не потребуется. Озеро Кавах, расположенное в кальдере имеет максимальный диаметр около одного километра, а его самая глубокая точка находится на глубине в двести метров. Его берег – это крупное месторождение природной серы. Правда из-за ряда негативных моментов с начала наблюдения за озером, его площать уменьшилась более чем в десять раз.

О этом месте можно много рассказать, но я не буду тянуть, и начну с его изюминки – синей лавы. Как такое возможно? Ради справедливости следует сообщить, что это не обычная лава в том понимании, к которому все привыкли. Её особенностью является наличие значительного количества серы. Когда масса вытекает на поверхность, то она генерирует сернистый газ, что горит при температуре около шестиста градусов по Цельсию. И если внимательно присмотреться к фотографиям, сопровождающим данную статью, то это можно заметить. Следует отметить одну особенность – такой удивительный эффект наилушим образом виден ночью из-за того, что свечение от сгорания газа весьма слабое. Днём же, как правило, лава имеет красный цвет. Но ночью же здесь видна настоящая феэрия красок! Это место привлекает не только рядовых посетителей, но и журналистов, которые любят снимать здесь документальные фильмы. Во избежания разочарований от посещения следует отметить, что такой феномен можно наблюдать, увы, не каждую ночь. Причиной этого могут быть как слабые выбросы лавы, так и запрет на посещение этого места из-за нестабильной ситуации.

А сейчас же давайте вернёмся непосредственно к кальдере. Её самая высокая точка – это стратовулкан Мерапи, возвышающийся над уровнем моря на 2803 метра. Расположен он на юго-восточном склоне. Вообще, большинство вулканических образований здесь возникло именно на южной стороне. Но на севере, зато, сформировался дугообразный хребет. Зона субдукции, на которой расположен Кава Иджен, протянулась более чем на двадцать пять километров. При приближении даже не скажеш, что вблизи есть вулкан. Около него раскинулись кавовые плантации и рисовые поля, а на склонах есть поля и луга.

Озеро Кава(х) представляет собой комбинацию серной и соляной кислот. Обычным его цветом считается изумрудный. На поверхности температура составляет около шестидесяти градусов по Цельсию, хотя на глублине она может перешагивать за черту в двести градусов! Один раз энтузиастами было решено узнать, насколько же опасна смесь в озере, и они засунули в него на пять минут лист алюминия (который, кстати, весьма неплохо вступает в реакцию с кислотами). И когда его вытащили, то от него осталось, скажем так, не много. При посещении этого места необходимо одевать защитные респираторы с фильтрами, которые позволят защитить дихательную систему от вредных и очень ядовитых серных испарений. Но здесь есть и позитивный момент. Так, из-за того, что газы раскалены высокой температурой, то в нём часто происходит разрядка напряжения, что сопровождается возникновением электрических вспышек синего цвета. Причем они могут достигать пяти метров в длину. Так сказать, молния в миниатюре. Дополняет общую картину присутствие пяти граммов расплавленного алюминия в одном литре жидкости. Просто гремучая смесь!

Геологически эта территория начала формироваться ещё в эпоху плейстоцена. Тогда возникла кальдера. А на ней уже начали формироваться вулканические конусы. Сейчас с уверенностью можно говорить о том, что основной «строительный» материал – это базальт, базальтовые андезиты, просто андезиты, пикробазальты и дациты. Кава Иджен является активным вулканом. Последнее сильное извержение здесь происходило три недели ноября в 1936 году. Тогда из-за довольно высокой активности непосредственно в кальдере даже водные потоки вышли из своих берегов. Но даже сейчас, стоя на берегу вулкана можно наблюдать, что он просто дремлет, но не спит. Так, регулярно меняется цвет воды Каваха. Он то зелёный, то белый, то коричневый. Также из-за активности серного газа здесь есть сильное пенообразование. А если повезёт, то можно почуствовать даже незначительные по силе подземные толчки. Их количество достигает нескольких сотен на год, поэтому вероятность почуствовать на себе лёгкие сдвиги летосферы вполне возможно.

Интерес здесь представляет и добыча серы, которая осуществляется традиционным способом – вручную. Следует отметить, что работа эта не с легких, к тому же, чрезвычайно опасная для здоровья. Усложняет положение местных рабочих и то, что у них практически отсутствуют респираторы. Для защиты дыхательных путей чаще всего используют мокрые тряпки, которые засовывают в рот. Но даже эти меры слабо помогают, и по некоторым данным, трудяги на этой работе в среднем живут только по 47 лет. Кстати, с высоты рабочие с корзинами на плечах довольно неплохо дополняют общую картину. Но всё же труд у них действительно тяжелый. Некоторые туристы, побывавшие здесь, дарят работникам свои респираторы. Что ж, это ценный подарок! Процесс добычи обычно выглядит следующим образом. Первоначально сера выходит на поверхность в виде расплавленной красной жидкости, которая вытекает с трещин. Со временем она остывает и меняет свой цвет на желтый. После чего застывшую субстанцию разбивают ломами и лопатами, грузят в корзины и относят к станции отгрузки. Несмотря на такой кустарный способ добычи, в Кава Иджене добывают самую чистую и дорогую серу в Индонезии, которую используют для отбеливания сахара и вулканизации резины.

Пребывая в этом месте (особенно спускаясь по склону к синей лаве) как не вспомнить Божественную комедию Данте и его девять кругов ада! Первоначально при подъеме создаётся впечатление живой местности, но постепенно появляются пустые и безжизненные склоны, клубы едкого дыма, раскалённая стекающая сера и в самом конце – гладкое, изумрудное и опасное озеро.

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *